Community College Agriculture Advancement Act

Senators John Hickenlooper, Deb Fischer, Amy Klobuchar, and Todd Young

Community College Agriculture Advancement Act Overview:

- The Community College Agriculture Advancement Act would amend the National Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching Policy Act of 1977 to authorize capacity building grants for community college agriculture programs
- The text is identical to its House counterpart, led by Reps. Trent Kelly (R-MS) and Salud Carbajal (D-CA)
- These grants would support workforce training, education, research, and outreach activities in agriculture

This Legislation Would:

- Create new opportunities for community and technical colleges through Capacity Building Grants for Community College Agriculture Programs
- Give priority to institutions who work directly with local agriculture operations to provide experiential training for students
- Include farm business management-related subjects such as accounting and finance, so that farmers, ranchers, and others in the industry have the tools to build thriving businesses
- Authorize the program at \$20,000,000

Bottom Line: Congress has authorized Department of Agriculture grants and assistance to institutions of higher education that generally have not benefited the nation's nearly 1,100 community colleges. This bill is a commonsense step to ensuring that all education institutions have the capacity to meet the needs of future farmers and agriculture service providers.

Supporters Include: Community College Alliance for Agriculture Advancement, Colorado Community College System, Arapahoe Community College, Colorado Northwestern Community College, Community College of Denver, Community College of Aurora, Front Range Community College, Lamar Community College, Morgan Community College, Northeastern Junior College, Otero College, Pikes Peak State College, Pueblo Community College, Red Rocks Community College, Trinidad State College, Nebraska Community College Association, Central Community College, Metropolitan Community College, Mid Plains Community College, Northeast Community College, Southeast Community College, Western Community College, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, Central Lakes College, Lake Superior College, Northland Community and Technical College, Ridgewater College, Riverland Community College, St. Cloud Technical and Community College, South Central College, Southwest Minnesota State University, Ivy Tech Community College, and more.